Wedding Girl Gets Engaged!

That’s right, it’s official!

We’re engaged! For those interested, here’s my (lengthy) version of the proposal:

S insisted that he was taking me to the Zoo Lights display at the Oregon Zoo on the Monday after Christmas, before the weather got rainy later in the week. I had some minor suspicions that he was up to something, but honestly thought nothing of it that night as he was ready to bail due to the large crowds/freezing temperatures. We arrived at the zoo (one of my favorite places on Earth) and I immediately began running around checking out all the lights and animals that were still awake. My camera died as we were about halfway through the zoo, an event that I was bummed about but still had NO idea.

I was dying for some hot cocoa (due to the previously mentioned freezing temperatures/impending rain) and spotted a line out of the way that seemed shorter. Once we got our hot cocoas, S suggested we look over the balcony that overlooked the grass with a large light display.

S looking calm and cool... but what's that in his pocket???

At this point he set down his hot cocoa, and I immediately knew something was up!! He paused a few moments glancing at the people passing by behind us, then took a deep breath. The rest is a complete blur but I remember him saying something about how the last 5 years have been so wonderful and how he loves me so much, upon which time he got down on one knee, opened up a ring box (in my mind thinking “OMG this is it! It’s really happening! What should I be doing right now?!?”) and asked if I would marry him. I immediately said yes and ripped off my glove so he could place the ring on my finger.

The rest of the night, I couldn’t wipe the huge grin off my face and couldn’t stop shaking from excitement/freezing temperatures/now pouring rain. We decided to skip the 45 minute line in the rain for the train and get home to spread the news. Now I can’t wait to go back to Zoo Lights next year with a fully charged battery.

One of the (many) reasons I love my ring is that it’s not super flashy at first, but has a beautifully intricate design along the sides. Very me. I can’t imagine a different proposal, or a different ring or a different guy. I’m loving this whole “being engaged” thing… now it’s planning time!! (details to follow…. OF COURSE!)

2 thoughts on “Wedding Girl Gets Engaged!

  1. Pingback: Resolutions for 2012 « Wedding Girl Problems

  2. Pingback: Resolutions for 2012 | Elaina Lynn Design

I would love to hear your thoughts!

