So… When can I start planning?

This is the exact question I posed to my fiancé for which I got a giant eyeroll. The reality is I have been subconsciously planning my wedding for the last year or so but refused to let myself get too serious about it until I was actually engaged. Well, it’s TIME!! The strange part is that I’m not entirely sure where to start. You get so overwhelmed with the excitement and want to start doing everything at once!

So here is my crash course for the newly engaged on what to do first.

1.Relax and enjoy! You only get to be “newly engaged” once in life (hopefully) and it flies by so fast! It’s easy to get caught up in all the planning drama and questions like “so have you set a date?”. Remember, this is about you and your fiancé. Set aside time to be with each other and adjust to your new status.

2. Think about having an engagement party or sending out formal announcements. My mom and I are already having too much fun putting together a small gathering for our family & close friends. We love any excuse to throw a party! I’m not as familiar with engagement parties, so we are drawing on inspiration from everything, including the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (anyone remember the camel greeting guests at Pandora’s engagement party??). It’s been a great way to ease into the flow of planning without the pressure of planning the-only-wedding-you-will-ever-have.

Photo from Bravotv.com The Real Housewise of Beverly Hills: Otherwise Engaged

3. Read this article. There are so many great articles on this site, but this one helped me focus. It even helped calm the nerves of my fiancé (after much prodding to get him to read it) to understand that you don’t have to do EVERYTHING right away. But we do need to start some stuff 🙂

4. Build your vision. Once again, it’s very easy to get overwhelmed. I recommend using sites like Pinterest or the recently launched Lover.ly to gather pictures of things you like (post in the comments if you need an invite!). Then see if you can spot any trends (i.e. colors, overall feel, location). See also: Inspiration Gods at the right.

It has been such an exciting transition to become a bride-to-be myself, I’m so thankful I know so much already! Now I just have to get my guy excited that we’re not just planning a wedding, but our married life together!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

