The Life of an Oregonian Coordination Intern

My does time fly! Here we are midway through wedding season, and I’ve already learned so much as an intern for a wedding coordination company. Life has certainly been crazy as I’ve kept my day job in retail while working an occasional Friday/Saturday wedding. There is so much about wedding coordination that I would have never expected, so here’s a quick rundown on what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Build up a wardrobe of black dresses WITH POCKETS and black leggings. The key is to blend in with the wedding guests, so no fuchsia cocktail dresses (duh). And the pockets are an essential for your phone, which ends up being your walkie talkie throughout the day.
  2. Wedding Coordination can’t be taught. There’s that moment where you are alone with the bride and she is a bundle of nerves before she walks down the aisle. In that moment, you either have it or you don’t. I’m doing my best to observe how the coordinator I’m shadowing reacts in those types of situation, but when it comes down to it, you have to know how to think on your feet. Fast.
  3. Plan for ANYTHING to happen. That one time you forget to pack sunscreen will be the day with no shade in sight. Then, by night fall, you’ll be freezing if you forgot to pack a sweater and scarf even to deal with the cold night winds. And heels are highly unpractical as you are hauling the garbage out through the gravel lot at the end of the night. Thankfully the coordination team warned us of most of these situations, so I have learned from their experiences in most cases.
  4. Oregon is a BEAUTIFUL state. I have lived here for over 2 years, but traveling to weddings in wine country or to a farm just out of the suburbs has opened my eyes to the incredible beauty that Oregon has to offer. I have a found a new appreciation for living here.

View of Mt. Hood from a wedding site

I would love to hear your thoughts!

